Do you know an individual who is a leader of positive change in their workplace and in our community?

For 50 Years, Our Alumni have been Creating Positive Change. Nominate a candidate for the 2024 Distinguished Alum Award.

Last day to submit nominations, Feb. 23, 2024

Each year Leadership SBM honors one of the over 1800 Signature alumni with the Distinguished Alumnus award. This individual is a community leader who embraces the principles of servant leadership and meets the following criteria:

  • Nominees must be alumni of the Leadership SBM Signature Program.
  • Exemplifies servant leadership; builds community and serves where needed
  • Conceptualizes what could be and overcomes what has always been
  • Identifies challenges at work and in the community and takes steps to address them
  • Committed to personal growth and to helping others grow, too
  • Addresses difficult issues and navigates tough conversations with an attitude of listening and learning
  • Provides opportunities for others to become empowered.
  • Identifies barriers that are prohibitive to others and works to overcome them.
  • Cannot be a current member of the Leadership SBM Board of Directors.


  • To nominate an individual:
  • Provide a narrative, no longer than one page, Word Doc or PDF format, that shares examples of how the nominee embodies the above criteria.
  • Include the name and Signature-class number or year of the nominee.
  • Nominee’s email address and phone number
  • If there is more than one person submitting the nomination, add their names as nominators at the bottom of the narrative.
  • Follow-up contact information for all nominators.
  • Please, do not submit more than one narrative.
Juliann Jankowski Leadership South Bend Mishawaka

Juliann Jankowski, 2022 Distinguished Alumnus, Signature Class 24.

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Alum Award

1996-Dr. Virginia Calvin, Class 1
1997-Pat Cressy, Honorary Class 23
1997-Don Cressy, Honorary Class 1
1998-Gladys Muhammad-Class 7
1999-25th Anniversary Celebrating All Alumni
2000-Patrick McMahon, Class 4
2001-Sharon Scuzzo, Class 8
2002-Lou Nanni, Class 19
2003-Karl G. King III, Class 1
2004-Ed Henry, Class 16
2005-Luther Taylor, Class 29
2006-Claude D. Renshaw, Class 4
2007-Rex J. Rakow, Class 17
2008-Tim Sexton, Class 24
2009-Wellington “Duke” Jones, Class 3
2010-Kirby Falkenberg, Class 20
2011-Carmi Murphy, Class 7
2012-John Foegley, Class 33
2013-Ann Manion, Class 7
2014-Carolyn Gray Hahn, Class 21
2015-Tim Leman, Class 34
2016-Jody Freid, Class 6
2017-Becky Zaseck, Class 34
2018-William Cushwa, Class 31
2019-Steve Camilleri, Class 32
2020-Rose Meissner, Class  20
2021-Sam Centellas, Class 41
2022-Juliann Jankowski, Class 24             2023-Jacqueline Kronk, Class 35